Community / Information

MAMA Art Collective Launches in Wisconsin!

We are so thrilled to announce the opening of a MAMA Art Collective in Madison, WI.  Lara Romine will be opening and managing this space.  We’ll let her tell you more about herself in the post below, but wanted to just quickly appreciate all of the time and effort she’s put into getting this space off the ground. Lara was brave enough to take this concept to the next level and make us an organization with a national (is it true! pinch me!) reach. We’re just in awe of every single one of the creative women we’ve met over the past two years and look forward to finding out what the Madison MAMA Art Collective will become!
Betsy and Melanie
Without further ado…
Lara MAMA
My name is Lara Romine and I have been living in Madison for the past 7 years. I have been quilting for 12 years, and sporadically post about my quilting at thequiltedlane.wordpress.com. I am also a stay at home mom of two small girls; Evelyn, age 2 and Grace, age 9 months.
I love being a mother, but as you all know, it takes up a lot of time and energy. There are so many wonderful events open for the girls during the week; story time at libraries, little gym, music time, but I found there was really nothing available for the parents who are bringing the kids to all of these events. I wanted to create a space where moms could get together and socialize as adults, while still taking care of our little ones.
When my mom was taking care of her two small children, she was in a co-op where the parents would meet once a week. Half of them would stay and watch the children, and the other half would go off and run errands. I knew that in this day and age, it would be very difficult to do this since the parents leaving children somewhere would have been a legal fiasco, but I wanted to do something. Then in comes Betsy to the rescue!
The MAMA art collective seemed like a perfect solution. I could get together with other mothers and do the thing I like best besides caring for my kids, quilting! I have invited all the mothers I know, and I’m really hoping that this will take off here in Madison.

Our first meeting will be Friday, November 7th at 9:00 AM at West Middleton Lutheran Church (on the corner of Pioneer and Mineral Point Rd). We will initially be meeting the first and third Fridays of the month, and the second Monday. We can add on additional Mondays or Fridays as need be. If you have any questions about the meeting, or anything else about this group, feel free to contact me at LaraRomine@gmail.com.
The other day my daughter grabbed a toy paintbrush and told me she needed it for her “arting”. I started to explain to her that arting wasn’t a word, but she kind of hit the nail on the head, and we’ve started using it in our home. How else to perfectly describe all the different ways people can be creative? So, happy arting everyone and I hope to see you there next Friday!
One thought on “MAMA Art Collective Launches in Wisconsin!

  1. Pingback: MAMA Art Collective Launches in Newport, Virginia! | mama art collective

Leave a Reply

